Windows

Synchronisation Settings

The sciebo desktop client allows you to synchronise your sciebo directory (to various local folders) on your computer. You determine which data is synchronised and which is not. This is especially useful if you use your sciebo account on different computers or for different purposes. For example, employees can synchronise only data for teaching on their laptop and all data on their desktop PC.

Setting Up Further Folder Synchronisations

If you want to synchronise different subfolders with different destination folders, you can set this up in the client.

  1. Open the client. The tab with your user ID is displayed. (If you have already created an initial folder synchronisation when setting up the client, it will be displayed here).
  2. Click on "Add folder synchronisation".
  3. Select the destination folder and click "Next".
  4. Select the sciebo folder you want to synchronise and click on "Next".
  5. Click on "Add synchronisation".
  6. The new folder synchronisation is now displayed in the overview and the synchronisation process starts.

Stop Synchronisation of Individual Subfolders

In the client you have the option to exclude individual subfolders that you have synchronised so far from synchronisation and thus remove them from your PC. As these folders remain in sciebo, you can select and synchronise these folders again at any time.

  1. Open the client. The tab with your user ID is displayed.
  2. Click on the small arrow next to the folder synchronisation to show the subfolders.
  3. Untick the subfolders that you no longer want to synchronise.
  4. Click on "Apply manual changes".

Synchronising Large Folders

Subfolders that exceed a size of 500 MB are not automatically synchronised. In the client, these folders are highlighted with a red font colour. If you want to synchronise them, you must manually confirm the synchronisation once. (You can adjust the size limit or deactivate this setting in the client settings.)

  1. Open the client. The tab with your user ID is displayed.
  2. Click on the small arrow next to the folder synchronisation to show the subfolders.
  3. Tick the box of the folder concerned.
  4. Click on "Apply manual changes".

Pausing Synchronisation

You can pause folder synchronisation in the client, e.g. if you do not want your Internet connection to be burdened by the synchronisation of data temporarily.

  1. Open the client. The tab with your user ID is displayed.
  2. Click on the three dots next to the folder synchronisation you want to pause. (If you synchronise your entire sciebo directory with a single destination folder, only one folder synchronisation will be visible).
  3. Click on "Pause synchronisation".

To continue synchronisation at a later time, you must repeat the same steps, but click on "Continue synchronisation" in the last step.

Removing Synchronisation

In the client, you can remove existing folder synchronisations, e.g. if you no longer need a folder synchronisation or want to restructure the synchronisation. When you do this, the synchronised data is also removed from your PC. Since the data is retained in sciebo, you can set up the folder synchronisation again at any time and synchronise the data again.

  1. Open the client. The tab with your user ID is displayed.
  2. Click on the three dots next to the folder synchronisation you want to remove. (If you synchronise your entire sciebo directory with a single destination folder, only one folder synchronisation will be visible).
  3. Click on "Remove folder synchronisation".