sciebo Account
My account name has changed. What do I have to do?

If your account name has changed (e.g. because you have moved to another university and have received a new ID), you must register again. Unfortunately, you cannot continue to use your old account. If necessary, you can manually move your data from the old to the new account.

sciebo Account
My e-mail address has changed. What do I have to do?

As long as your ID has not changed, you only need to renew your sciebo account in my.sciebo to update your data.

sciebo Account
My name has changed. What do I have to do?

As long as your ID has not changed, you only need to renew your sciebo account in my.sciebo to update your data.

Storage Volume
I am a student and need more than 30 GB of storage. What can I do?

Unfortunately, students cannot increase their storage volume at the moment.

I am an employee and need more than 500 GB of storage. What can I do?

You can apply for a [project box] (/en/hilfe/projektboxen/).

Access
Can I access my sciebo account via SMB/FTP/SSH?

No, the protocols mentioned are not supported. You can use sciebo via the web interface, the desktop client or the apps.

Access
Can I access my sciebo account via WebDAV?

In general, it is possible to use sciebo via WebDAV, but we do not recommend this and do not offer any support for this. It is best to use sciebo via the web interface, the desktop client or the apps.

Access

If you leave your institution, you can no longer renew your sciebo account and it will be blocked after a grace period (of max. 1 year from the last renewal) and subsequently deleted. If you forgot to back up your data before the blocking, open a support ticket.

Data Loss
Data has disappeared from my account. What can I do?

There may be various reasons why data can no longer be found. First check the following solutions:

  • If you have deleted data by mistake, you can restore it within 7 days (depending on the available storage space also considerably longer), provided you are the owner of the data. To do this, log in to the web interface and select the recycle bin in the left menu bar. You can restore the data listed there directly.
  • If data that was shared with you is missing, contact the person who shared the data. They may be able to restore the share or data (if it was accidentally deleted). Also note that data shared by a user will no longer be available if his or her sciebo account is deleted.

If your data could not be restored in this way, open a support ticket. Please also remember to make regular backups of your data.

Data Loss
I have accidentally deleted data. What can I do?

If you have deleted data by mistake, you can restore it within 7 days (depending on the available storage space also considerably longer), provided you are the owner of the data. To do this, log in to the web interface and select the recycle bin in the left menu bar. You can restore the data listed there directly.

If your data could not be restored in this way, open a support ticket. Please also remember to make regular backups of your data.